Rigging- Alec to the Rescue

After an eventful night, including a car window being smashed and loosing 99% of my sanity while trying to create this damn rig, we finally have a completed one.

Alec saved us literally- he sent me a basic rigging tutorial for our character, any of the rigs I had attempted so far had proven too complex for what we really needed. Alec was kind enough to send the below video- which I then completed.

There was a problem when I created the rig on the LHS (human error on my part, again) but Alec was a gem and was able to fix it while I tried to figure out how to get home. Advice- don’t ever leave University at 2am.

Our rig was completed, however, and that’s all that matters!

Screen Shot 2016-04-25 at 11.03.59

Due to the lack of actual animation on her lower body (it only needed to be posed for each static shot) we didn’t have the need for heel twists/ ball rolls in the feet. However, maybe as a side project, I could try and achieve this higher level of rig.

Creating a Reverse Foot Rig. (YouTube, 2016).

I had previously created this heel/ ball roll/ twists on other failed rigs. Summer, I hope, will be a great learning arc for me with this software. I want to learn to rig and I am determined to do so!

References 

YouTube. (2016). Creating a Character Rig – Part 19: Reverse foot rig. [online] Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y5MGhfaaeEI [Accessed 30 Apr. 2016].

Leave a Reply

