Research- Poles on the Face

Poles are a key aspect in face topology, but are only used in certain places, to connect the rings of the eyes, nose and mouth together.

Superman

I was unable to find the actual artists responsible for this work, however, I managed to track the source back to CGchips, a Japanese animation source. I found this image very useful, given the tutorial I had chosen to use. Modelling the head, to me, should be done in a flat plane and then following the tissue markers of the face, or in this case, matching to the side perspective. This image shows this ‘plane’ modelling, something I found easier to navigate and visualise in my head.

superman

The final textures were created in a 3D sculpting software, maybe this is something I could do after the submission. (CGchips, 2016).

Digital Tutors

Again, I was unable to source the original artist/ guidance behind this image that I found on Plural Sight (formerly Digital Tutors). I thought it was helpful in explaining how one topology mesh, with the same number of polygons, could be manipulated to create a totally different face shape.

I was informed that I have a small, high, nose on my face, which would prove different to model than say the likes of Cassie or Lorna’s. The child face in this diagram gave me a firm idea of what a button nose should look like.
face.jpg

Young vs  old. (Digitaltutors.com, 2008).

Thundercloud Studios

Unfortunately, I do not have an account with this studio, however, some of the resources on their website are available to use.

I really found the colour coding in this image useful when considering the areas of the face, and the map from this.

face topology.jpg

Colours showing the direction of the face and general look. (Thunder Cloud Studio, 2015).

Bad_Koala

Another Pinterest find, this artist used Z-brush to model the face before creating a cleaner mesh in Maya. I really found this image below useful for areas such as the forehead, as the tutorials I had looking at didnt provide much by way of help in these areas/ confused me.

I found it interesting too to look at the older face studies in these models. We were told that older people, with more folds and wrinkles in the skin, will have more faces around these areas. This was really apparent here in the lip area.

7622c28cbfd002cf9620923b659abce7.jpg

The after colour/texture on this model is gorgeous. (Zbrushcentral.com, 2016).

 

 

References

CGchips. (2016). CGchips. [online] Available at: http://cgchips.com/ [Accessed 13 Apr. 2016].

Digitaltutors.com. (2008). human face topology. [online] Available at: http://www.digitaltutors.com/forum/showthread.php?9365-human-face-topology [Accessed 13 Apr. 2016].

Thunder Cloud Studio. (2015). Game Arts. [online] Available at: http://www.thundercloud-studio.com/game-arts/ [Accessed 13 Apr. 2016].

Zbrushcentral.com. (2016). Bad_Koala’s wip. [online] Available at: http://www.zbrushcentral.com/showthread.php?64923-Bad_Koala-s-wip [Accessed 13 Apr. 2016].

Leave a Reply

