The Process

The tutorials I used for modelling the head were Duylinh Nguyen. I found them very easy to follow and easy to adapt the topology to fit with my own features (such as reducing the height at which the ear is modeled.

The tutorials I followed. (YouTube, 2016).

My Process (in photos- when I remembered to take them..)

2016-04-14 (6).png

Step one- blocking the face as a plane. I had to form the basic outline for the front of the face, starting with a plane on the eye and then forming the ring structure. I then had to form the shape of the nose and mouth. It is clear to see that even in these early stages, there is some form to the face in the way the edges flow.

2016-04-14 (7)

Step two- matching the vertices to the side view. I then had to work with the formed topology and pull the vertices to fit the side view. This was quite difficult for me, and took a few goes, but I got there eventually.

2016-04-14 (8)

Step three- blocking the chin. The next step was to form the shape of the chin and begin to block out the the side of the face, placing the topology in a way to make it easy for me to match with the ear when I reached that stage.

2016-05-04 (12).png

Step four- adding more detailing in the mouth and nose. In this step I also started to block out the cheek area and side of the face.

2016-05-04 (3).png

Step 5- The ear. I started by mapping out the ear with rough topology in a flat plane and then started to extrude the geometry to create the wrinkles in the cartilage. The tutorial I watched offered a few ways in creating the topology on the lobe, however I went with the one shown as it was a lot neater and created no triangles.

2016-05-04 (5).png

2016-05-04 (7).png

2016-05-04 (6).png

Step 6- Closing up the ear (above three photos). This was the hardest part for me as I originally merged two points to the wrong place, creating an N-gon. Thankfully, I had saved not long before and was able to pick up from the place again,

2016-05-04 (10).png2016-05-04 (8).png2016-05-04 (9).png

Step 6- Attaching the ear to the head geometry. This was the bit of the model that I enjoyed the most as it didn’t require a lot of fiddling. This was because my ear was already attached and didn’t need me to do much work to fix it. The flow of my head matched pretty well and I was able to pull the last inner edges of the ear back with ease.

2016-05-04 (17).png

2016-05-04 (14).png

2016-05-04 (13).png

Step 7- The back of the head. This required me to get inventive and feel my head a lot to understand its overall shape. I then drew over my reference photo as a guide when creating the final thing. 2016-05-04 (16).png

Step 7- Duplication. I then duplicated the geometry and tweaked the RHS to match my face. I also pulled the ears back more, as I though they were sticking out a little too much.

References 

YouTube. (2016). Duylinh Nguyen. [online] Available at: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCTU-FQtFbqjCqI6giU_uA-w [Accessed 14 Apr. 2016].

Leave a Reply

