Research-Modeling the Neck

The neck was a bit of a stumbling block for me- simply the tutorial did not cover it.

That, and my original reference photos showed I had no neck (I stupidly wore a scarf which covered my neck completely).

I took the below photos to help look at my neck when modelling it. They made me realise how much of a scrawny neck I actually have.

When looking into the actual topology of the neck I found the reference below very helpful. I noted the pole under the neck, like I would expect to be, where the jawline meets the neck, where the masseter muscle meets the splenius and thyrohyoid muscles.

2029_tid_1a.jpg

The Head by By  Germán Zambrano Córdoba(3dtotal.com, 2016).

Some of the muscles in the neck helped me to understand the topology and the flow of the neckline itself.

1111_posterior_and_side_views_of_the_neck

Muscles in the Neck. (Philschatz.com, 2016).

References

3dtotal.com. (2016). // Create stylized character scenes by Germán Zamorano Córdoba (page 1 of 2) / 3ds Max Photoshop ZBrush Digital Painting Project Overview tutorial from 3dtotal.com. [online] Available at: http://www.3dtotal.com/tutorial/2029-create-stylized-character-scenes-3ds-max-photoshop-zbrush-by-germn-zamorano-crdoba-motorbike-gas-station-cartoon [Accessed 28 Apr. 2016].

Philschatz.com. (2016). [online] Available at: http://philschatz.com/anatomy-book/resources/1111_Posterior_and_Side_Views_of_the_Neck.jpg [Accessed 28 Apr. 2016].

Leave a Reply

